Primavera

Skills for Life

Chang Mai

Project location: Chiang Mai
Number of children supported: 30
Type of support: Scholarship
Period of support: since 2015
Contact at primavera board: Katharina Lange

In 2014, Dominique Leutwiler founded the “Skills for Life” project as she saw the need to further support children from the age of 9th grade. Many foundations in the north of Thailand support children from young age until 9th grade. Afterwards, young teens are often left on their own and without further education struggle to succeed in life.

Upon the successful end of their school year, children of the age of 15 are taught about health, nutrition, ecological farming, languages, technologies and vocational skills. Some manage to attend universities.

This project is supported by private donations, sponsorships and cooperation from local businesses. Companies recognize and appreciate the robust training provided by “Skills for Life” and many benefit from the trained young workforce. The skills learned at “Skills for Life” provide good opportunities for students to find jobs.

In 2015 Primavera started funding the “Skills for Life” project through donations and will cover costs for transportation and learning materials. Bosch Thailand provides additional financial support and vocational training. In addition, Bosch associates provide counselling and connect the foundation with Faculty of Arts at Chiang Mai University where the children can reach out to their mentors on vocational skills topic.

With the commitment of “Skills for Life” program disadvantaged people can now have an opportunity to succeed in the society.

Start image gallery...

Hand to Hand

Pattaya

Project location: Pattaya
Number of children supported: 20
Type of support: Education- Scholarships for poor students
Period of support: since 2017
Contact at primavera board: Katharina Lange

The Hand to Hand Foundation was established nine years ago by Margie Grainger as she was saddened by the number of children being placed in orphanages due to poverty.

Many of these children had families who loved them, but they simply could not afford to educate, feed and clothe them. The parents believed the only hope for a positive future for their child was to leave them at an orphanage who would provide ‘everything’ they needed.

In 2010, Margie, Pai and Mon began to do whatever they could to keep these children in their loving families by providing scholarships for 12 children. Today with the help of primavera, there are over 100 students receiving education from kindergarten through to university. The scholarship for each student covers 100% of all books, uniforms and school supplies such as stationary, bags and hats. Each student receives a 750 baht allowance every month to assist with transportation costs or provides a budget for the students to purchase breakfast before school if needed.

Only students who are committed to attending school and from poor economic situations are considered for the program. Many students are recommended by the government social welfare officers and principals of schools who identify needy students.

Several students have already graduated from university and all of them are now in full time employment making them financially stable. This means they can now support all of their immediate family improving the quality of life for several generations.

Start image gallery...

Thailand

  • Capital: Bangkok
  • Area 513.120 km²
  • Population: 69.630.000 (2019)

-->

Primavera

Skills for Life

Chang Mai

Projektstandort: Chang Mai
Anzahl der unterstützten Kinder: 30
Art der Unterstützung: Schulabschluss und Ausbildung
Zeitraum der Unterstützung: seit 2015
Ansprechpartner im primavera Vorstand: Katharina Lange

2014 gründete Dominique Leutwiler das Projekt „Skills for Life“, da sie die Notwendigkeit sah, Kinder ab der 9. Klasse weiter zu unterstützen. Viele Stiftungen im Norden Thailands unterstützen Kinder vom jungen Alter bis zur 9. Klasse. Danach werden junge Teenager oft alleine gelassen und haben ohne weitere Ausbildung Schwierigkeiten, im Leben erfolgreich zu sein.

Am erfolgreichen Ende ihres Schuljahres werden Kinder im Alter von 15 Jahren in den Bereichen Gesundheit, Ernährung, ökologischer Landbau, Sprachen, Technologien und berufliche Fähigkeiten unterrichtet. Einige schaffen es, Universitäten zu besuchen.

Dieses Projekt wird durch private Spenden, Patenschaften und Kooperationen lokaler Unternehmen unterstützt. Unternehmen erkennen und schätzen die solide Ausbildung durch „Skills for Life“ und viele profitieren von den ausgebildeten jungen Arbeitskräften. Die bei „Skills for Life“ erlernten Fähigkeiten bieten den Studenten gute Möglichkeiten, eine Stelle zu finden.

Im Jahr 2015 hat Primavera damit begonnen, das Projekt „Skills for Life“ durch Spenden zu finanzieren und übernimmt Kosten für Transport und Lernmaterialien. Bosch Thailand bietet zusätzliche finanzielle Unterstützung und Berufsausbildung. Darüber hinaus bieten Bosch-Mitarbeiter Beratung an und verbinden die Stiftung mit der Philosophischen Fakultät der Chiang Mai-Universität, an der die Kinder ihre Mentoren zum Thema berufliche Fähigkeiten ansprechen können.

Mit dem Engagement des Programms „Skills for Life“ haben benachteiligte Menschen nun die Möglichkeit, sich in der Gesellschaft zu behaupten.

Bildergalerie starten...

Hand to Hand

Pattaya

Projektstandort: Pattaya
Anzahl der unterstützten Kinder: 20
Art der Unterstützung: Schulische Bildung / Stipendien
Zeitraum der Unterstützung: seit 2017
Ansprechpartner im primavera Vorstand: Katharina Lange

Die Hand-to-Hand-Stiftung wurde vor neun Jahren von Margie Grainger ins Leben gerufen um den vielen Kindern, die aufgrund von Armut in Waisenhäusern untergebracht wurden, zu helfen.

Viele dieser Kinder stammten aus Familien, die es sich nicht leisten konnten, ihre Kinder großzuziehen, zu ernähren und zu kleiden. Die Eltern glaubten, die einzige Hoffnung für eine positive Zukunft ihres Kindes bestehe darin, sie in einem Waisenhaus zu lassen, das ihnen „alles“ zur Verfügung stelle, was sie brauchten.

Im Jahr 2010 begannen Margie, Pai und Mon alles zu tun, um diese Kinder in ihren liebevollen Familien zu halten, indem sie Stipendien für 12 Kinder zur Verfügung stellten. Heute erhalten mit Hilfe von Primavera über 100 Schüler eine Ausbildung vom Kindergarten bis zur Universität. Die Stipendien der Schüler decken 100% aller Bücher, Uniformen und Schulsachen wie Schreibwaren, Taschen und Hüte ab. Jeder Schüler erhält monatlich eine Zulage von 750 Baht, um die Transportkosten zu decken, oder bekommt die Möglichkeit, sich vor der Schule ein Frühstück zu kaufen.

Für das Programm werden nur Schüler berücksichtigt, die sich zum Schulbesuch verpflichtet haben und aus wirtschaftlich schlechten Verhältnissen stammen. Viele Schüler werden von den staatlichen Sozialbeauftragten und Schulleitern empfohlen, die bedürftige Schüler identifizieren.

Einige Studenten haben bereits die Universität abgeschlossen und sind jetzt alle in Vollzeitbeschäftigung, was sie finanziell stabil macht. Dies bedeutet, dass sie nun ihre gesamte Familie unterstützen können, um die Lebensqualität für mehrere Generationen zu verbessern.

Bildergalerie starten...

Thailand

  • Hauptstadt: Bangkok
  • Größe: 513.120 km²
  • Einwohnerzahl: 69.630.000 (2019)

-->