Primavera

The Colorful House in Bogotá

January, 2017

An inviting, brightly painted house can be seen perched on top of a hill in Sierra Morena, a slum in the southern part of Colombia’s capital. It stands in stark contrast to the ramshackle corrugated-iron huts otherwise found on the outskirts of Bogotá. Casa de los Colores, a center run by the charitable organization CES Waldorf (Corporación Educativa y Social Waldorf), is there to help people in one of the most poverty-stricken areas of Colombia. Its declared mission is to take children and young people off the street and protect them against malnutrition, abuse, and sexual exploitation. The program is based on the precepts laid out in the Waldorf educational philosophy, which focuses on a holistic approach to the development of young people. The aim of Waldorf is to allow the children under their care to grow on a personal level and to give them the skills they need to take their lives into their own hands.

The CES Waldorf project, launched back in 2001, has also been receiving funding for three years from Primavera, the charitable organization run by Bosch associates. Maria Ganserer, who now works as a production planner at the plastics plant in Waiblingen, was the person who proposed providing funding and support for the project after volunteering in Bogotá for Casa de los Colores in 2012. “Since completing my secondary education, I have always wanted to help people in the developing world hands-on.” Once she had finished the program for young engineers in Feuerbach, the industrial engineer went about putting her plan into action. She had the full backing of her supervisor at the time, as well as that of the Feuerbach plant management team.

She learned about the many activities performed by the center. While working at the nursery, which provides childcare services for 66 toddlers aged two-and-a-half to five, she served food, played with the children, and watched over them during their afternoon nap. “It was an unbelievable experience being able to gain their trust so quickly and hearing ‘te quiero’ (I like you),” she recalls.

Along with the kindergarten, 150 or so young people take part in a program designed to promote their education and social well-being. The children are provided with tutors to help them with their homework, learn to sew, paint, and make pottery, and have the chance to study music, dance, or theatre based on their individual artistic talents. “I constructed a bead-weaving loom and taught the children the techniques of craft,” says Ganserer. Occupational training for the young people is organized in conjunction with local industry. Some of former students who found jobs after completing their training are now working as volunteers in the project. For Ganserer personally, even if the work at CES Waldorf and life in general in Bogotá were not always easy, she is grateful for the invaluable experience she gained in her time volunteering at the center. “There were small moments each day that made my stay in Colombia so wonderful and truly special.” These were the times when she could see that the people were really benefiting from the assistance the center is offering.

Bosch Colombia has been supporting the project for a year now. Helio Duenha, who heads the local subsidiary in the South American country, considers his involvement as a duty and an obligation: “For us, demonstrating corporate social responsibility is an absolute must in a country where many people live in poverty. Education and counseling allow children, adolescents, and their parents to build a better future.”

CES Waldorf - Like a small paradise in dreary surroundings

Bogotá

The project "Corporación Educativa y Social Waldorf" was founded in 1997 by Helmut von Loebell, a German-Colombian business man. His goal was to get street children of a shanty town near Bogotá off the street and protect them from malnutrition, physical and sexual abuse. Currently, around 250 children aged 3 to 16 and their families are being taken care of.

Since 2008, the project is nationally recognized. However, the financial support is low and the majority of the financial needs of approximately 300 thousand EUR is covered by donations and sponsors.

The children get a healthy diet, medical care and holistic education based on the educational philosophy of Waldorf. They also learn craft activities (knitting, painting, pottery, stone-work) and depending on personal skills are taught subjects such as music, dance and theater, among others. Vocational training for youths is organized in collaboration with local industry and some of them, who have found a job after training, participate today as volunteers in the project.

Another important area is the support and guidance of families - mostly single mothers. The program ranges from adult education to workshops on social behavior, health care, healthy eating, among other things. With this part of the social work also the situation of families and their coexistence improved. The CES Waldorf is run very well, the children are lovingly cared for and their families closely involved. The teachers and coaches are very dedicated and so the CES Waldorf seems to be a small paradise in it's dreary environment.

The representative chairman of Primavera - Mr. Helmut Schwarz - paid a visit to this project early in 2013. Read more about their experiences in Colombia.

A salsa dancer's dream

January 2014, Cali, Colombia

This is the story of Jonathan Gonzalez. He grew up in the slums of Cali, an industrial center located approximately 300 kilometers southwest of Colombia’s capital, Bogotá. He has dreams - just like anyone else does: but Jonathan is just one of many young people in Colombia who get a unique opportunity thanks to involvement from Bosch ...

Visit of "Don Bosco" in Colombia

February 2013, Cali, Colombia

Mr. and Mrs. Schwarz traveled to Colombia in Febuary this year and, on this occasion, visited the Primavera project "Don Bosco", in which young people live and get trained for several technical professions. Read on to find out more about the impressions, the two of them collected on site ...

Start image gallery...

School and vocational training center Don Bosco

Cali

The social project Don Bosco is located in a poor area of the industrial city of Cali, with 1.5 million inhabitants. Founded in 2008 by priests of the Order of the Salesians, it includes a large vocational training center, currently serving more than 3,000 young people of difficult social background.

The children and young people shall be protected from crime, drug trafficking and prostitution, which, unfortunately, are present 24/7 in their immediate environment. In contrast, Don Bosco aims at education for positive social behavior with respect for fellow human beings and the environment. With these fundamentals and a profound education, the children have a chance for a self-determed, good life. Many companies in the region have already taken over apprentices of Don Bosco and the cooperations shall be extended in the future, supported by Primavera.

Primavera is sponsoring this project, for example through the funding of further education courses for young people in automotive engineering, electrical, heating and air conditioning technology and precision engineering. Many people from different areas of the Bosch group also support the courses by providing their personal experience and expertise.

The first course in heating and air conditioning systems will begin in early June. In September, a second course is to follow in electrical engineering. We are looking forward to the first feedback from instructors and participants!

About Colombia ...

Capital: Bogotá
Area 1.138.748 km²
Population: 46,4 million
Population Density:36,8 inhabitants/ km²
Population Growth:1,4% p.a.
Official Languages: Spanish
Literacy Rate: 92,5%
Religion: Catholic Majority (90%),
Curreny: Peso

Join Facebook

Primavera

Das bunte Haus in Bogotá

Januar, 2017

Im Armenviertel Sierra Morena, südlich der kolumbianischen Hauptstadt Bogotá, steht auf einem Hügel ein buntes Haus. Freundlich und schmuck, ganz im Gegensatz zu den vielen ärmlichen Wellblechhütten am Stadtrand. Es ist die „Casa de los colores“, eine Einrichtung der gemeinnützigen Organisation CES Waldorf (Corporación Educativa y Social Waldorf), die den Menschen in einer der ärmsten Gegenden in Kolumbien hilft, einen Weg aus ihrer hoffnungslosen Lebenssituation zu finden.

Sie hat es sich zur Aufgabe gemacht, Kinder und Jugendliche von der Straße zu holen und sie vor Unterernährung, Misshandlung und sexuellem Missbrauch zu schützen. Nach dem Vorbild der Waldorfpädagogik steht vor allem die ganzheitliche Entwicklung der jungen Menschen im Vordergrund. Mit dem Ziel, ihre Persönlichkeit zu stärken und ihnen ein selbstbestimmtes Leben zu ermöglichen.

Das Projekt CES Waldorf wurde 2001 gegründet und wird seit drei Jahren auch von Primavera, dem Hilfsverein von Bosch-Mitarbeitern, unterstützt. Der Vorschlag zur Förderung kam von einer Bosch-Mitarbeiterin: Maria Ganserer, heute Fertigungsplanerin im Kunststoffwerk Waiblingen, war 2012 im Rahmen einer ehrenamtlichen Tätigkeit im „bunten Haus“ in Bogotá. „Bereits seit dem Abitur hat mich der Gedanke nicht losgelassen, Menschen in einem Entwicklungsland mit persönlichem Einsatz zu helfen.“ Nach dem Abschluss des Jungingenieurprogramms in Feuerbach setzte die Wirtschaftsingenieurin ihren Plan um – mit Unterstützung ihres damaligen Vorgesetzten und der Feuerbacher Werkleitung.

Innerhalb von fünf Wochen lernte sie die einzelnen Bereiche der Einrichtung kennen. Im Kindergarten, in dem 66 Kinder im Alter von zweieinhalb bis fünf Jahren betreut werden, verteilte sie das Essen, spielte mit ihnen und hielt Wache beim Mittagsschlaf. „Es war eine unbeschreibliche Erfahrung, innerhalb kürzester Zeit ihr Vertrauen zu gewinnen und ein „te quiero“ (ich mag dich) zu hören“, erinnert sie sich.

Neben dem Kindergarten nehmen auch rund 150 Jugendliche an einem Programm zur erzieherischen und sozialen Unterstützung teil – ergänzend zum Schulunterricht. Sie werden bei den Hausaufgaben betreut, lernen Stricken, Malen oder Töpfern und werden je nach persönlichen Fähigkeiten in musischen und gestalterischen Themen wie Musik, Tanz oder Theater gefördert. „Für die Werkstätten habe ich Perlenwebrahmen gebaut und die Jugendlichen in das Perlenweben eingeführt“, erzählt Maria Ganserer. Die Berufsausbildung für die Jugendlichen wird in Zusammenarbeit mit der lokalen Industrie organisiert. Einige von ihnen, die nach der Ausbildung eine Arbeit gefunden haben, bringen sich heute als Freiwillige in das Projekt ein. Auch wenn ihre Arbeit im CES Waldorf und das Leben in Bogotá nicht immer einfach war, ist Maria Ganserer sehr dankbar für die wertvollen Erfahrungen, die sie dort sammeln durfte. „Es waren die täglichen kleinen Momente, die mich während meiner Zeit in Kolumbien am meisten gefreut haben.“ Momente, die zeigten, dass die Hilfe bei den Menschen ankam.

CES Waldorf - wie eine paradiesische Insel in trister Umgebung

Bogotá

Das Projekt "Corporación Educativa y Social Waldorf" wurde 1997 von Helmut von Loebell, einem deutsch-kolumbianischen Geschäfts mann gegründet. Sein Ziel war es, Straßenkinder einer Armensiedlung nahe Bogota von der Straße zu holen, sie vor Unterernährung, Misshandlung und sexuellem Missbrauch zu schützen. Gegenwärtig werden ca. 250 Kinder im Alter von 3 – 16 Jahren mit ihren Familien betreut.

Seit 2008 ist das Projekt staatlich anerkannt. Die finanzielle Unterstützung ist jedoch gering und der Hauptanteil des finanziellen Bedarfs von ca. 300 Tausend Euro wird durch Spenden und Sponsoren gedeckt.

Die Kinder erhalten eine gesunde Ernährung, medizinische Versorgung und ganzheitliche Erziehung auf Basis der Waldorf Pädagogik. Zudem erlernen sie handwerkliche Tätigkeiten (Stricken, Malen, Töpfern, Steinmetz-Arbeiten) und werden je nach persönlichen Fähigkeiten in musischen und gestalterischen Themen wie Musik, Tanz, Theater u.a. gefördert. Die Berufsausbildung für die Jugendlichen wird in Zusammenarbeit mit der lokalen Industrie organisiert und einige von ihnen, die nach der Ausbildung eine Arbeit gefunden haben, bringen sich heute als Freiwillige mit ihrer Mitarbeit in das Projekt ein.

Ein wichtiger Bereich ist außerdem die Unterstützung und Beratung der Familien – meist alleinerziehende Frauen. Das Programm reicht von der Erwachsenenbildung bis zu Workshops über soziales Verhalten, Gesundheitsvorsorge, gesunde Ernährung u.a. Mit diesem Teil der Sozialarbeit verbessert sich auch die Situation der Familien und deren Zusammenleben. Das CES Waldorf wird hervorragend geführt, die Kinder werden liebevoll betreut und deren Familien intensiv eingebunden. Die Lehrer und Betreuer sind sehr engagiert und so ist das CES Waldorf wie eine paradiesische Insel in einer tristen Umgebung.

Der stellvertretende Vorstandsvorsitzende von Primavera - Herr Helmut Schwarz - besuchte Anfang 2013 gemeinsam mit seiner Frau diese Projekt. Lesen Sie hier den Erfahrungsbericht der beiden.

Mit Tanz zur Technik

Januar 2014, Cali, Kolumbien

Dies ist die Geschichte von Jonathan Gonzalez. Aufgewachsen in einem Armenviertel der Industriestadt Cali, rund 300 km südwestlich der kolumbianischen Hauptstadt Bogotá. Er hat Träume wie jeder Mensch: aber Jonathan ist nur einer von vielen Jugendlichen in Kolumbien, die dank Engagement von Bosch eine einmalige Chance bekommen ...

Besuch "Don Bosco" in Kolumbien

Februar 2013, Cali, Kolumbien

Das Ehepaar Schwarz reiste im Ferbuar diesen Jahres nach Kolumbien und besuchte bei dieser Gelegenheit gleich das Projekt "Don Bosco", in dem Jugendliche leben und ausgebildet werden. Lesen Sie weiter, um zu erfahren welche Eindrücke die beiden vor Ort gesammelt haben ...

Bildergalerie starten...

Schulheim und Berufsbildungszentrum Don Bosco

Cali

Das Sozialprojekt Don Bosco befindet sich in einer Armensiedlung der Industriestadt Cali mit 1,5 Mio Einwohnern, in einer Gegend mit schwierigsten sozialen Verhältnissen. Es wurde 2008 von Priestern des Ordens der Salesianer gegründet und beinhaltet unter anderem ein großes Berufsbildungszentrum, in dem zur Zeit über 3000 junge Menschen lernen und betreut werden.

Die Kinder und Jugendlichen sollen vor Kriminalität, Drogenhandel und Prostitution geschützt werden, die in ihrer unmittelbaren Umgebung leider allzeit präsent sind. Im Gegensatz dazu strebt Don Bosco die Erziehung zu positivem Sozialverhalten mit Respekt vor Mitmenschen und Umwelt an. Mit diesen Grundlagen und einer fundierten Ausbildung haben die Kinder eine Chance auf ein selbstbestimmtes, gutes Leben. Viele Firmen aus der Region haben bereits Auszubildende von Don Bosco übernommen und die Kooperationen sollen, auch mit Hilfe von Primavera, zukünftig weiter ausgebaut werden.

Primavera fördert dieses Vorhaben zum Beispiel durch die Finanzierung weiterer Ausbildungsgänge für Jugendliche in Kfz-Technik, Elektrotechnik, Heizungs- und Klimatechnik und Feinmechanik. Viele Mitarbeiter aus verschiedenen Bereichen der Bosch Gruppe unterstützen ausserdem die Kurse indem sie ihre persönliche Erfahrung und Kompetenz einbringen.

Der erste Kurs in Heizungs- und Klimatechnik wird Anfang Juni beginnen, im September soll ein zweiter Kurs in Elektrotechnik folgen. Wir sind schon gespannt auf das erste Feedback von Dozenten und Teilnehmern!

Über Kolumbien ...

Hauptstadt: Bogotá
Größe: 1.138.748 km²
Einwohner: 46,4 Millionen
Bevölkerungsdichte:36,8 Einwohner / km²
Bevölkerungswachstum:1,4% p.a.
Amtssprache: Spanisch
Alphabetisierungsrate: 92,5%
Religion: Mehrheit Katholisch (90%),
Währung: Peso

Join Facebook Join XING-group